Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 03-11-2020, 12:21 PM
Large Rat

Default Hello, EQ Noob checking in.

Hey guys, thought I'd type up a brief intro. I have no real prior EQ experience aside from a brief attempt to get in to the game a few years ago, I think I got to level 2 on necromancer. Well I'm back to give it another shot on green server, and this time I'm going to try and play the game duo with my son. As of right now the plan is to go Druid/Paladin (He thinks paladin is just the coolest, and I am a total scrub trying to play it safe). Yesterday I was testing the water with a Barbarian shaman who preceded fell into a lake, couldn't figure out how to swim up, drowned, rezzed in some pitch black area and rerolled.

My druid has had a little more success, making it to level three and being handed a nice starter mace and some fancy jewelry by a kind passerby. As soon as our IP exempt request goes through my son will be joining me which leads to my first question. Should I stop getting XP to avoid creating to much of a level gap? Are there disadvantages to out-leveling him? And lastly do you all have any tips for us going into this pretty much completely blind? We will be trying to make as much progress as possible during his 2 weeks of spring break, and we look forward to playing with all of you!
Old 03-11-2020, 12:34 PM
Aviak

Welcome!

In response to your levelling question - there are rules about who can group with whom and still get experience. The wiki has the full set somewhere, but the basic answer = if you stay within a few levels of one another you'll be fine. The allowable difference grows as your level gets higher, so a difference of 5 levels in your 40s is no big deal really, but 5 levels when both are less than 10 is likely not good.