Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Old 01-12-2024, 05:45 PM
Large Bat

Default Advice for a new duo

I'm new to P99 (and EQ in general). I've got a level 10 enchanter human in Qeynos doing Blackburrow and am going to start a new guy with my brother as an introduction to the game. I'd like to show him as much of it as I can early on.

I'm thinking we're going to play as a Shaman/SK troll duo and do some stuff in the swamps and hopefully some low-level stuff in Upper Guk, but I've never been to any of those places.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan for getting a taste of open-world exploring and dungeon crawling for new players? What level would we need to be to at least start the first few rooms of Guk?
Old 01-12-2024, 06:55 PM
Aviak

Make something more fun for exploring. Iskar Sham + nIskar necro could be fun if you don't mind sneaking around.

A druid and enchanter combo would be awesome and my vote.
Old 01-12-2024, 07:20 PM
Large Bat

What about our duo would be less fun for exploring? I haven't gone far so I don't know. I figured we'd be in good shape with the shaman for SoW so we could move quickly. What else should I be looking for?

I saw a lot of enchanter combo recommendations but I want to avoid that class in particular since it's the only one I've already got.
Old 01-13-2024, 12:26 AM
Fire Giant

That is a pretty reasonable plan, yes. Around 8? you should be able to do entrance mobs. Upper guk is a great dungeon.
Old 01-13-2024, 01:38 PM
Large Bat

Okay thanks! We'll give it a shot. I'm trying out the warrens now with my enchanter and that seems interesting, but I don't think we want to do the erudite classes. Human night-blindness might turn him away before he gets started.
Old 01-14-2024, 08:20 PM
Planar Protector

enc + shaman is better than SK + shaman
Old 01-15-2024, 01:35 PM
Aviak

Shaman necro very fun too with regen to compensate the health loss.
Old 01-15-2024, 02:38 PM
Planar Protector

Quote: