Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

View Poll Results: What type of network do you use while gaming?
Wired connection 24 68.57%
Wireless connection 11 31.43%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2015, 11:44 PM
Adcid Adcid is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Angry What's causing my lag?

So Ive been swarm kiting on my bard for a while now and I will randomly have lag spikes that will end in my death. I've noticed that while at lower levels it happened less frequently, I'm not in OT at 35 and it happens with almost every pull. I have slowed down to between 5-10 mobs per pull so that when I do lag, I can survive a hit.

Regardless of Rants that people may have on bards, Id like the issue resolved. I have searched the forums and found that others had similar issues but never found a resolution. This issue is the same on all systems I've tried it on in my household making me believe it may be a network issue.

Below is the system that I run.

Code:
Component Details Subscore Base score 
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3350P CPU @ 3.10GHz 7.5 7.5 
  Determined by lowest subscore 
 
Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB 7.7 
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660  7.9 
Gaming graphics 4096 MB Total available graphics memory 7.9 
Primary hard disk 113GB Free (223GB Total) 7.8 
Windows 7 Professional 

System   
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
  Manufacturer To Be Filled By O.E.M. 
  Model To Be Filled By O.E.M. 
  Total amount of system memory 8.00 GB RAM 
  System type 64-bit operating system 
  Number of processor cores 4 
 
Storage   
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
  Total size of hard disk(s) 223 GB 
  Disk partition (C:) 113 GB Free (223 GB Total) 
  Media drive (D:) CD/DVD 
 
Graphics   
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
  Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 
  Total available graphics memory 4096 MB 
        Dedicated graphics memory 2048 MB 
        Dedicated system memory 0 MB 
        Shared system memory 2048 MB 
  Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.4465 
  Primary monitor resolution 1920x1200 
  DirectX version DirectX 10 
 
Network   
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
  Network Adapter NETGEAR A6200 WiFi Adapter 
  Network Adapter Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
I have dropped all settings within game to minimize any lag that may be caused my in game variables, and have adjusted the games resources to set a high priority affinity with a single core within my processor as well. None of this has changed the lag issue but of course made the game look crappy.

My thoughts are that while in game my connection/latency is 100% between 100-130ms and this may be causing the issue. I run all of my systems, desktop included on a wireless G network. This weekend I intend to go find a wire long enough to reach my router and see if that resolves the issue, but does anyone else have a suggestion?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2015, 11:49 PM
Rararboker Rararboker is offline
Banned


Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 728
Default

IIRC that lag is from people entering the zone you are currently in. Not sure how/if it can be stopped.

Maybe someone else knows?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2015, 12:11 AM
MaCtastic MaCtastic is offline
Orc


Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kelethin
Posts: 48
Default

It only takes one Diablo HC death because of Wireless failure before you go to LAN without Ever looking back.

I doubt it's your specs, I have loaded EQ into RAM with the same issue. I just drop my mouse sensitivity down if I am swarming. Should control the spin.
__________________
52 ENC - Dainae <kittens>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2015, 01:45 AM
Faiwen Faiwen is offline
Orc


Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 30
Default

I can run any game without lag but on here I get constant .1-.2 second lag spikes in any zone I'm in, though it's definitely worst in OT. I've tried running in compatibility mode, WinEQ2, lowering all graphic settings and running EQ on a single core but nothing has fixed it. Would love to see if switching to a wired connection fixes it for you

Edit: After reading what Rararboker said I went to OT and did /who to see how many players were in the zone (26). Sure enough, I had a lag spike, did /who, and there were 27 people in the zone
Last edited by Faiwen; 06-05-2015 at 01:55 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2015, 02:02 AM
Adcid Adcid is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faiwen [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
After reading what Rararboker said I went to OT and did /who to see how many players were in the zone (26). Sure enough, I had a lag spike, did /who, and there were 27 people in the zone
If the lag is associated with people entering the zone, then the lag can only be minimized by a wired connection and not eliminated. Ill test and confirm findings tomorrow after going to the store.

If that's the case, I may need to limit my kiting activity to lower population times as the lag spike has no effect when im grouping and don't take damage.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2015, 09:14 AM
Adcid Adcid is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Thumbs down

Even with my mouse sensitivity turned down to 14% I still ran into an issue with the swarm jumping right on top of me. If I'm in range to hit them with Denton's, then the chance of them stunning me is about 15%. This applies to me using strafe in and out of Denton's range or simply having the swarm sit inside the range marked by a clear box in the bottom corner of my screen. While the total number of player in the zone did not change, the players themselves did. At least 3 porters are constantly porting people in and out of OT, but only 19 in zone this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2015, 01:24 PM
Adcid Adcid is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Default

Played with a wired connection all weekend. While i didn't do any major kites over the weekend thanks for burn out from death in OT, i did try a kite of between 20-30 mobs this morning without any problems. My connection speed wired vs. wireless is the same however the zone population changed from 19-25ish while kiting and I didn't lag once. I may two pulls during this time as so far it seems wired connections allow for my stable speed connections that minimize the lag caused by people zoning into your kite zone.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2015, 03:11 PM
dafier dafier is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Buried in a cove.
Posts: 1,381
Default

BTW, another 'wired' type connection is Power line. I do not suggest it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2015, 02:47 PM
curtischoy curtischoy is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 495
Default

stop DLing porn while playing. I had to and it almost made me quit p99.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2015, 03:28 PM
natx natx is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: May 2015
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2
Default

wireless is horrible for gaming.

wireless is prone to interference, latency, retransmission and packet loss. think of walkee talkies, only one person can talk at a time. so you can either transmit or receive to your access point at any given time (half-duplex). now add more devices to the wireless network - phones, other computers and you have massive contention for air time. all other traffic has to wait to be sent or received during the time other devices need to communicate. perhaps your neighbor has a AP on the same frequency or close to your channel (2.4GHZ channels overlap. the only non-overlapping channels are 1, 6 and 11).

due to these factors your eq traffic is being queued up to be delivered to your pc and may arrive out of order or require retransmisison, causing anomalous behavior -- to compound the issue I believe EQ uses UDP so I could definitely see rubber banding as a major side effect of playing over Wi-Fi. the benefit of udp is less overhead but it is connectionless and there is no error checking unless it is baked into the EQ client/server app.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.