Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Tanks

Closed Thread

Old 04-26-2020, 12:26 AM
Scrawny Gnoll

Default Warrior DPS & Threat Spreadsheet

Hi all,

I'm a poor newb warrior on Green, but I try to do my best. I was trying to decide which weapons to get for the most DPS and threat gen. I understand that if a warrior is MT, threat gen is king. I also know, from reading the guides and forums, that procing weapons are popular and recommended for threat gen.

However, a lot of the analysis done in the past was for lvl 50 characters, with BiS weapons and high stats (mainly, DEX and STR). I am only lvl 17 and I have no gear, so I was wondering if I should do something different, than what is advised at end game.

I had two main concerns going in: I do want most threat gen when I'm MT, but I'm often not MT and then I want high DPS. But, I can only afford one set of decent weapons.

So: How do different weapon sets compare, in terms of threat gen and DPS?

Here's the spreadsheet I made, which calculates DPS and Threat / Second, as a function of level. You can change the STR and DEX. You can compare 2 sets of weapons. No 2H option yet.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing

I used various formulas I found on the P99 wiki. I used max damage, just because. This is all calculated "per second", so I hope the low hits and crits average out.

Anyway, the result appears to be Obsidian Shard / Obsidian Shard is close in DPS to Polished Steel Dirk / Silvery War Axe, but is much higher in threat gen, even with low DEX. In fact, most threat comes from the main hand procs. The off-hand is not predicted to proc very much at all. I know secondary proc rates are debated.

The main caveat is how much threat the procs generate. I used the info the Sakuragi's guide. Threat = 1 point per dmg, and 550 for debuffs. Obsidian shard is a debuff + dmg, so that's what I used. I'd love to test this, but I would need another warrior of a similar level.