Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Off Topic

Closed Thread

Old 01-05-2016, 02:00 PM
Sarnak

Default Heads up RE Oculus Rift

Oculus Rift will start taking pre-orders tomorrow at 8:00 Pacific.

If you have a PC that is capable of running VR (I use a i7 5930 at 4.4ghz/32GB DDR4/GTX 980), YOU SHOULD STOP WHATEVER YOU'RE DOING AT 8:00 TOMORROW AND ORDER ONE.

I've been using DK2 in Elite Dangerous since the game launched, I can't describe it to you, but it is hands-down the most immersive, incredible, awesome experience you can have in front of a computer. I'm a god damned space pilot; that's the best way I can put it.

Alien Isolation? Very pedestrian on a monitor, not bad but kind of like most things, forgettable. Playing on Oculus Rift? Scream-out-loud, intense, "Jesus Christ why did I play this at night, I'm not going to be able to go to sleep now."

Dying light? Not a bad game on a monitor, again forgettable. Playing on Oculus Rift "HOLY FUCK I DON'T EVEN LIKE HEIGHTS WHY AM I DOING THIS?!"

Assetto Corsa? Yaay, I'm playing a driving game, I kind of like driving games, this one is not bad. On Rift? "Jesus Christ I'm a fucking race car driver, holy shit I can naturally look at the apex of a turn and steer into it, this is fucking great!!"

The games for VR will only get better, too. I cannot sing the praises of this thing enough.

Yeah Vive might be better, but this one will be available first so I'll wind up getting both.
Old 01-05-2016, 05:49 PM
Planar Protector

I cannot wait to don this fine piece of gadgetry whilst working faction with Muffins for Pandos.
Old 01-06-2016, 02:01 AM
Banned

Oculus Rift is a joke, VR will never be a thing as there is no current technology that can combine your brain with hardware/software. Oculus Rift at best is like going to see a 3d movie, while yes its cool for the first time, it quickly loses its value.
Old 01-06-2016, 02:06 AM
Banned

let me know when i can sex with it k
Old 01-06-2016, 02:13 AM