Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 11-15-2021, 10:52 AM
Large Rat

Smile Hello to all!

Hello to all! Whether on Blue, Green or Red! My name is Hamlington and I come to you as a complete nobody and newcomer to EQ!

I decided, before embarking on this new journey, to drop an introduction and perhaps tell you a bit about myself and what I'm looking forward on my adventure.

(Warning: Long read ahead! You can skip to the tl;dr below!)

As said, I'm Hamlington and I'm new to EQ. As a matter of fact, Project 99 might be my first true experience of the game. I did try it before some few years prior, having downloaded both EQ1/2 (the retail versions), but it never really caught my attention as much back then and the games were a far cry from the stories I've read about the OG game.

That was until recently when I found out about P99. Now given I did find out about it back during the craze around the release of the progressive Green server two years ago(?) and It did pique my interest for the game, especially when I found out it was a true-to-the-original emulator server. However, a variety of other issues coupled with a crippling addiction of other MMOs and games deterred me from fully joining and appreciating the game.

But, times have changed over the past two years and so have I with them. With no real access to a proper gaming machine and far away on schooling duties, stuck with a moderate office laptop and seeking an escape from the mundane study sessions, I chose to return to this server and rekindle my interest in it.

As stated, P99 intrigued me because it was old school. I have a special place for older games in my heart and though I grew up playing more modern titles (like LoL, Apex, CS:GO), my love for MMOs and especially the Fantasy genre never ceased.