Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Rants and Flames

Closed Thread

Old 02-23-2021, 12:09 AM
Banned

Default EQ gave me a compacted ulnar nerve

P99 was so freaking awesome when I started playing last month that I tunnel-visioned it, the same mistake I made when I started up classic WoW. I was playing at least 8-10 hours on my off days. I was leaning back in my computer chair with my arm propped on the arm rest, and I started to notice my hand aching and going numb. After one bing-y weekend the next day I had pins and needles shooting all down the left side of my hand

I should’ve taken a break but of course I didn’t. Now the left side of my left hand including the pinky and ring finger is completely numb, I could leave it on a stove and not notice. My hand is also gimpy, I can’t even work a toenail clipper it’s so weak. I tried to employ the same strategy I do with every other medical or other problem in my which is to ignore it and hope it goes away. It’s been 3 weeks now and it’s stayed completely the same. I read online and some places say stretch it and other say stretching it will F it up worse. And I wasn’t even playing a freaking Bard!

So now I have an appointment with a sports medicine hand doctor on Friday, who I’m just going to piss when I decline his recommendation to do physical therapy (can’t get the time off work), and certainly I ain’t doing surgery. If there’s not a pill or shot they can give me then I’m leaving there disappointed. I’m very fit; I won my work’s fundraiser 5k race this past November with a 23:00 min finish time. But now I have to go in and tell a sports medicine doctor that I injured my arm obsessively playing a 20 year old elf simulator... Sucks, man
Old 02-23-2021, 12:20 AM
Banned

Moral of my story is take breaks and your posture is important! I may have a dead hand for a long time...
Old 02-23-2021, 12:21 AM
Planar Protector