Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 08-23-2015, 04:47 PM
Skeleton

Default Total newb looking for advice

So I have always wanted to play vanilla EQ but i thought it was gone until i saw this, so i immediately did everything to get P99. I have never played EQ, i just always wanted to. I was thinking of playing some of my old DnD characters.
I was thinking of a Necromancer dark elf (cliche i know)
Or a human female warrior and figuring i'd play tank for any party that'd have me.
But honestly i was just kinda wondering if i could get some starting advice/see if any guilds needed a specific character or just anything really. Any advice for me as a total newb?
Old 08-23-2015, 05:37 PM
Aviak

Half-Elf Ranger is good for starting out. Has a bit of everything.
Whispering their hidden song.
Then you see what cannot be—
Shadows move where light should be.
Out of darkness, out of mind,
Cast down into the Halls of the Blind.
Old 08-23-2015, 05:41 PM
Kobold

I think you should play whatever you think you will have the most fun playing. Tanks are always needed, and if you are passionate about mastering your class you can do well with anything you roll. Just make sure you research your racial traits and primary stat. I guess it all starts with what role you want to play. Hybrids are pretty versatile and will let you get a feel for both spell and melee mechanics. My first toon was an SK and I loved it. Its all about what you enjoy really. Since you are new I would try a little bit of everything until you find something you like.
Old 08-23-2015, 05:42 PM
Planar Protector

the human female warrior is a good idea. tanks are probably the hardest piece to find for me when I lvl alts up. So I don't imagine you'd have a hard time finding groups. It would be a struggle for gear lvling up but to me that is what makes the experience fun. Lots of great items to be had for a few hundred pp so you could manage.