Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2021, 12:31 PM
semirgj semirgj is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 20
Default Notification for Big Sur/Mac compatibility

Just wondering where I should keep an eye out to see any notifications of when this will he compatible with the new MacBook either with or without the MI chip.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2021, 06:52 PM
Savok Savok is offline
Fire Giant

Savok's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 971
Default

Catalina and all MacOS going forward do not support 32 bit apps, don't hold your breath for this to work. You would be better off using Parallels or any other virtual machine and install an earlier version of the OS for Everquest.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2021, 08:53 PM
valithteezee valithteezee is offline
Sarnak

valithteezee's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savok [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Catalina and all MacOS going forward do not support 32 bit apps, don't hold your breath for this to work. You would be better off using Parallels or any other virtual machine and install an earlier version of the OS for Everquest.
Would one be better off just installing a windows OS in parallels rather than a 32bit Mac OS? As far as compatibility goes I mean. Running Mac requires wineskin and all that, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2021, 01:35 PM
1asdfasdf1 1asdfasdf1 is offline
Aviak

1asdfasdf1's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nektulos Forest
Posts: 73
Default

Glad I found this thread. My MacOS install of EQ/P99 used to work fine but lately WineSkin won't launch, can't download new "engines", etc. Time to boot up a Windows 7 machine I guess. #WCGW
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2021, 05:04 PM
reznor_ reznor_ is offline
Fire Giant

reznor_'s Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: West Coast, USA
Posts: 539
Default

Once my macbook upgraded to Big Sur (I was trying to keep it Mojave, but had to upgrade for work [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.] ), I have to use Parallels to run P99. It works fine now, but is a little janky on launch, I have to swap between windows and fullscreen mode to fix the resolution, otherwise it's very pixelated. But! It is possible to run P99 on a Big Sur macbook.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2022, 10:56 AM
mhfleming92 mhfleming92 is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Default

I just bought a laptop on sale from Best Buy for $99 and it runs better than when I played on my $1200 MacBook Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2023, 07:57 PM
Calrizien Calrizien is offline
Aviak

Calrizien's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 53
Default

I have been playing P1999 on my M1 Mac for the past few weeks via Crossover. Find CXPatcher - that worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2023, 10:53 AM
Piff Piff is offline
Sarnak

Piff's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 311
Default

I play in parallels on an M2 Macbook Pro. Definitely has slight hitches that I didn't experience on windows proper, but it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2023, 09:47 PM
sogundordor sogundordor is offline
Orc


Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calrizien [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I have been playing P1999 on my M1 Mac for the past few weeks via Crossover. Find CXPatcher - that worked for me.
Crossover works on 2015 Macbook pro(intel chips, 64bit) too, without cxpatcher [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2023, 11:48 AM
Crunk Crunk is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calrizien [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I have been playing P1999 on my M1 Mac for the past few weeks via Crossover. Find CXPatcher - that worked for me.
I'm trying to get this to work via Crossover as well, but I'm having trouble getting it to run. Would you please post the steps you went through to get it working on M1 via Crossover?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.