PDA

View Full Version : Picking a class for real!

Lucia Moonglow
09-29-2013, 01:16 PM
Okay, so I'm stuck in a rut here and really need some advice. I need to stop jumping from one class to another and stick with one.

Some time ago, before Kunark was released on the server...hell, before planes raids even became a thing...I created a ranger. Yeah, I'm a long-time EQ veteran, and I stupidly created a ranger on a server that's emulating Pre-Luclin gameplay, experience penalties and all. That was a mistake. I currently have a 35 rogue, who seems more useful than the ranger, but finding groups is a CHORE.

So, here's the deal. I enjoy melee classes more than other class types, but the problem I'm really seeing is that I have trouble finding a group unless it's a fear kite group, which I find to be somewhat tedious. I just want a normal, ordinary group. Tank, healer, DPS. The ability to solo is essentially a "necessary evil" of sorts given the server's very sporadic population. To help you help me make a decision, here's a list of classes and how I generally feel about playing them.

Melee Classes
Warrior: I actually like playing warriors, but unless something is different here than it was in classic, warriors traditionally have a hard time holding agro. Also, as with all tanks, warriors are basically 100% group dependent, so I'd pretty much be completely screwed on XP. Also, warriors have no utility, so no sowing myself, no stealth, etc. A fun class for me IF I can find a group, though. I love gear, after all!

Paladin/SK: Like warriors, but with spells! I don't know if this server includes the low-end class improvements that were made where knights can tank almost as well as warriors, but since I see a lot of pally/SK tanks, I have to assume they did. I wouldn't mind playing either of these, but again, they are pretty much entirely group dependent, so that leaves me in the same rut as earlier.