Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Server Chat

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2014, 02:38 AM
tristantio tristantio is offline
Fire Giant

tristantio's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 855
Default New p99 patcher + utility bundle (testers and feedback needed)

Hello all,

I have a new patcher + utility bundle that I am working on (created exclusively for p99) that currently does the following:
  1. Auto-detects your EQ install directory
  2. Checks if any files need to be deleted for p99 to work (the nektulos/arena ones etc)
  3. Checks if any files in the latest patch bundle (v30) on your EQ install do not match the p99 zip bundle files
  4. If a file deletion or download+install needs to happen, does it automatically (including opening of the zip file etc)
  5. Automatically backs up any changed files prior to changing them
  6. Shows realtime progress of file scan and download time remaining
  7. Can launch EverQuest with a Play button click

The things I plan to add that are not there yet:
  1. Support for third party add-on installations (spell graphic packs, high res textures etc.)
  2. Integrated modules built in that work on the log file (starting with the auction tracker log uploader)

Some other ideas I have for realtime log parsing functionality (all will require you turn /log on) will include the ability to type something such as:

Code:
/me [ahu] pc fbss
Which the software will read in your log file as it comes in, and respond by querying the auction tracker/wiki pages for a proper price check on the item, and ultimately display a Windows/Linux/Mac pop up (gtk) box showing the price on the item.

Or another one:

Code:
/me [ahu] dps self
Which may open up a pop up box showing your current dps as parsed out in real time.

At this point, I'd appreciate some feedback/testers for what I have so far (which is just the working patcher, none of the other stuff yet).

Before testing, please back up your EQ directory just in case (although in my tests I haven't had anything bad happen).

You can download the software at:

http://ahungry.com/p99-patcher-min.7z

And run it by extracting via 7zip and double clicking the batch (.bat) file.

You can view all the source code at:

https://github.com/ahungry/p99-patcher/

At this point I have tested it under Arch Linux, Windows XP and Windows 7.

As the software runs on port 4444, you may receive a prompt from your Windows firewall/antivirus alerting you of this (and requiring an OK or Yes click).

If you do find an issue, please email me at m@ahungry.com.

Thanks!
__________________
Realtime auction logger: http://ahungry.com/eqauctions/
  #2  
Old 01-02-2014, 02:44 AM
tristantio tristantio is offline
Fire Giant

tristantio's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 855
Default

Download file has been updated to include any dll's you may be missing
__________________
Realtime auction logger: http://ahungry.com/eqauctions/
Last edited by tristantio; 01-02-2014 at 02:56 AM..
  #3  
Old 01-07-2014, 07:42 AM
Whovian Whovian is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks tristantio! I'm going to give this a try. Good to see another Arch Linux user here!
  #4  
Old 01-07-2014, 08:06 AM
Skittlez Skittlez is offline
Fire Giant

Skittlez's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 821
Default

The play option doesn't work for me, I get a error. Patcher is premo though.
__________________

BLUE
46 Warrior - Elkantor, 35 Shadowknight - Geldriia, 34 Enchanter - Shebreeze
  #5  
Old 01-07-2014, 08:24 AM
Autotune Autotune is offline
Planar Protector

Autotune's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 2,477
Default

Sounds like a great way to share my credit card information!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirken
I like to ninja edit people's Sigs.
  #6  
Old 01-07-2014, 08:33 AM
tristantio tristantio is offline
Fire Giant

tristantio's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 855
Default

Hah, I wish [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

If something doesn't work (for instance, the "Play" button) can you include what Operating System you tried it out under?

I don't have a full EQ install on any of my Windows virtual machines so tested a junk "eqgame.exe" executable with the "Play" button to ensure the proper process was spawned and passed the first argument ("patchme").

Thanks!
__________________
Realtime auction logger: http://ahungry.com/eqauctions/
  #7  
Old 01-13-2014, 12:25 AM
element08 element08 is offline
Aviak

element08's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: tane.us
Posts: 84
Default

Haven't tried running it yet but I did go through the source just in case anyone was worried about running it and can provide 3rd party confirmation that the only connections it makes are to project1999.com for the p99 patches (with a checksum to make sure you got what was expected) and a call to http://ahungry.com/p99-patcher.json to get an updated list of p99 patches. I'll give it a shot sometime to see how it runs on ubuntu 12.04. Also thanks for the auction tracker! That thing is awesome.
__________________
  #8  
Old 01-13-2014, 12:32 PM
tristantio tristantio is offline
Fire Giant

tristantio's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 855
Default

Thanks! Glad you enjoy it and I appreciate the code review/assurance for everyone out there [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
__________________
Realtime auction logger: http://ahungry.com/eqauctions/
  #9  
Old 01-13-2014, 12:46 PM
Swish Swish is offline
Banned


Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16,679
Default

I support tristantio's efforts fully! [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

Akkadius's patcher (no longer supported here) was updated to include a checkbox option to load EQ running a single core... I don't know how easy that was for him to implement, but will you be adding something similar? [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
  #10  
Old 01-13-2014, 01:03 PM
tristantio tristantio is offline
Fire Giant

tristantio's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 855
Default

I had a tester email me regarding Duxa's batch script, which is something similar to:

Code:
C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /C Start /affinity 1 .\eqgame.exe patchme
Inside a batch (.bat) file for launching the game, if that's all that is needed then it should be an easy fix/update to include a check box for launching with a single core.

Do you think that should be the default (checked) or let user check it and default to multi core?

Also, if you have your game installed in an entirely custom location, you will need to add to the settings.lisp file a line similar to:

Code:
*eq-path* "D:\I\Hate\My\C\Drive\EverQuest\"
Which points to your unique install location.
__________________
Realtime auction logger: http://ahungry.com/eqauctions/
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.