Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Old 01-27-2016, 08:55 PM
Orc

Default HP Envy(17in) vs Asus Q552(15in)

I am at best buy right now! Which should I get? Oh God the sharks are circling....
Old 01-27-2016, 09:04 PM
Fire Giant

HP makes great switches and horrible servers. Based on my experiences and seeing favorable reviews for the Asus, I would go with the Q552. It's your fault for making the decision on the fly, if you don't like the one you get [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 01-27-2016, 09:11 PM
Sarnak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Issar [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
HP makes great switches and horrible servers. Based on my experiences and seeing favorable reviews for the Asus, I would go with the Q552. It's your fault for making the decision on the fly, if you don't like the one you get [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I was a consultant for 10 years, and I've been running an IT department for a company for the last 2.

I've sold IBM and HP servers from IBM's old X series, and HP's DL and ML lines, up and down the lineup. In addition to selling them, I also installed them and maintained them from project design through end-of-life.

With that experience, I've had a LOT more issues with the IBM boxes, and in particular the IBM raid controllers in the X2xx line,than I've seen with HP boxes.

HP's servers are great. I am still using some old HP DL 360's as backup-backup targets after I migrated my current environment to Cisco UCS.

And prior to HP buying 3com, their switches were nothing. Hence them buying 3com.

That said: don't EVER BUY AN HP LAPTOP. Get the Asus.
Old 01-27-2016, 09:23 PM
Orc

Ok thanks for the replies. Does it matter if the asus is a 2 in 1?
Old 01-27-2016, 09:25 PM
Sarnak

I believe I heard of some people having issues with Microsoft Surface tablets...but I can't say for sure.