Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Off Topic

Closed Thread

Old 06-14-2010, 02:09 PM
Kobold

Default New Computer Advice

So I'm a programmer who is currently contracting work through my local computer repair shop (I live in a small town.) My gaming laptop is slowly biting the dust. The last straw for me was a week or so ago, the GPU and/or PSU is on its last legs.

So my contractor has offered to build me a useable gaming desktop when I finish this phase of the project. So I need some advice.

Criteria:
- Must be relatively inexpensive, keeping in mind he gets some decent deals on hardware. Probably in the $500-1000 range.
- Must be entry-level but still have a lot of room to grow
- Must be able to play games at somewhat-decent settings for now
- Must be able to upgrade while replacing as few parts as possible (ie: adding more RAM, swapping out a cheap GPU for a good one, etc.)
- Custom-built, so no links to Dell or shit like that, please. I want drivers and firmware updates that work properly for a change.
- I've had so many heat issues with this laptop I don't want to deal with potential heat issues from overclocking.
- If possible (haven't looked into this,) I'd like it to support multiple displays through one video card? I do a lot of programming and web design, where it's good to have a reference screen and a development screen.

So I'm thinking, to start off we need a decent Mobo and CPUs. Those should be the highest cost in the rig. Dual cores a must, quads... only if there's a significant performance boost for minimal cost. I can always upgrade that later if need be.

RAM, I can make do with 2gb for now probably.

Video card, something mid-level.

Sound card... I can probably deal with on-board sound and get a decent sound card later, right?

Network, again, on board then upgrade to a wireless (or at least something better) later.